Skip to main content

All-Party Parliamentary Group for Ending Homelessness

We provide Secretariat for this group which is Co-chaired by Paula Barker MP and Bob Blackman MP. The group brings together key sector organisations and parliamentarians from across the political spectrum. Our purpose is to put homelessness at the top of the political agenda and develop the policy solutions which will help prevent and resolve homelessness for good.

The All-Party Parliamentary Group for Ending Homelessness (APPGEH) was set up in response to growing numbers of people rough sleeping and upward trends in the number of homeless applications in 2016. 

The APPGEH holds regular meetings with its members to discuss the issues which proceed and escalate homelessness. It aims to develop the policy solutions which will create lasting change. The APPGEH also provides a platform for people with direct experience of homelessness to engage with Parliamentarians and key sector stakeholders and help inform the political dialogue surrounding homelessness.

Find out about our campaign, A Safe Home, which called for everyone homeless as a result of fleeing domestic abuse to have access to a safe, secure home here.

Earlier this year the APPG for Ending Homelessness launched an inquiry into the Westminster Government’s progress towards its manifesto commitment to ‘end the blight of rough sleeping by the end of the next Parliament’ in England by 2024. In September we launched the report findings.

Find out more

Co-Chairs and Vice-Chair

Paula Barker MP - Co-chair

Paula was elected Labour MP for Liverpool Wavertree in 2019. She previously held the position of Shadow Minister for Homelessness and Rough Sleeping.

For more information about Paula, please visit her website or follow Paula on Twitter.



Bob Blackman MP - Co-chair

Bob was elected Conservative MP for Harrow East in 2010. He is the author of the Homelessness Reduction Act 2017, which places new duties on local authorities to help people facing homelessness.

For more information about Bob, please visit his website or follow Bob on Twitter.

Lord Best - Vice-chair

Lord Best has been a Crossbench peer who has sat in the House of Lords since 2001. He has extensive experience in the housing and poverty sector, including being Chief Executive of the National Housing Federation between 1973-1988 and Chief Executive of the Joseph Rowntree Foundation between 1988-2006.

For more information about Lord Best, please visit the UK Parliament website.

Layla Moran MP

Layla Moran - Vice-chair

Layla was elected Liberal Democrat MP for Oxford West and Abingdon in 2017. She played a key role in the campaign to repeal the Vagrancy Act.

For more information about Layla, please visit the UK Parliament website or follow Layla on Twitter.


Paula Barker MP, Bob Blackman MP, Layla Moran MP, Lord Best, Neil Coyle MP, Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top, Baroness Thornhill MBE, Stephen Timms MP, Carolyn Harris MP, Sally-Ann Hart MP, Baroness Healy of Primrose Hill, Kim Johnson MP, Baroness Lister of Burtersett, Caroline Lucas MP, Helen Morgan MP, Mick Whitley MP, Bell Ribeiro- Addy MP, Henry Smith MP, James Sunderland MP, Damian Green MP, Fleur Andersen MP, Hywel Williams MP, Rachel Hopkins MP

Steering Group

We work with a wide range of sector organisations to ensure the APPG is fully informed on the homelessness debate and the diverse homeless population. We aim to engage a wide range of local organisations and homeless people in the APPGEH's activities.

The Steering Group includes St Mungo's, Shelter, Homeless Link, Centrepoint, YMCA, NHF, CIH, St Basil's, Salvation Army, The Passage, Connection at St Martin's, Changing Lives, Glassdoor, Justlife, AKT,  Depaul, Revolving Doors, Shared Health Foundation, the Bevan Foundation, START Homeless Outreach Teams, Expert Link, Action on Empty Homes and Homeless Oxfordshire.

If you would like more information on the APPGEH please do not hesitate to contact us.

Contact us

Meeting minutes and resources